top of page
  • Writer's pictureBlueMuztang96

Blue's Favorite Albums of All Time


Music. It drives me. It is my rock to lean on when things get tough. It keeps my head high, and smile wide. It is a passion I intend to pursue. Since I was young my love of music was obvious but I never expanded on it. I remember listening to songs on the radio, drumming to what beat I could, and singing every vocal completely out of key. I never cared who the artist was. To be honest I never really wanted to. It wasn’t until recently when I myself began to perform music that I really took into consideration the amount of hard work, dedication, and emotion that could go in to making one single song, let alone an entire full length LP.

Over the years, my love of music has grown tremendously, and my taste has changed dramatically. I have gone from enjoying straight Pop and Country to Classic Rock, to Metal, then to Punk Rock. I’ve also expressed interest in some Rap artists, and even Electronic music. I have also begun to learn multiple musical instruments over the years. I have played things like the cello and trumpet. Which when you play those in a school band you tend to only play classical pieces of music. And while that was all good fun, I knew there just had to be more. So I decided to pick up and learn the guitar. With that I was entirely self-taught so I would play other peoples music. That is where I believe I garnered a much better appreciation of modern music.

I began to develop a better sense of my favorite songs, bands, and of course albums. I became fascinated with how songs on an album would flow together. I started noticing themes in different albums, be it lyrically, instrumentally, or conceptually. I’ve decided it’s time that I list my favorites and explain my opinions. So here goes nothing.


5. “Vessel” - twenty | one | pilots

When you look at my musical taste its very strange for a primarily electronic based album to be amongst my favorites. But it was able to blend real instruments with electronic and synthetic instruments somehow it snuck into my collection and is one of my absolute favorites.


I have always liked listening to lyrics; I love how artists can take phrases and rhymes and create absolute poetry. This album is the cream of the crop when it comes to lyrical genius. The words spread throughout tackle very adult subjects like loneliness and solitude, but mainly it focuses on depression. However the songs themselves tend to be very upbeat and catchy (well aside from “Car Radio” which even then still manages to be extremely well thought out and memorable) each song tackles a different subject and while many stem from depressed thoughts and ideas, they still manage to keep up tempo and emotion. And for some reason it just speaks to me.


The amount of emotion each song contains is astonishing to say the least. You can practically hear the vocalist Tyler attempting not to cry at the end of each phrase. The lyrics do a great job of showing just how much thought was actually put into each initial verse and each one following it. Just listening to the track “Migraine” you can hear how deep of a thought process was used. There are forms of both irony and of deep thought. For some reason I latch onto the songs very well. While there are not many overlaid tracks present (meaning one song flows directly into the next) the way that the songs are arranged makes it very clear that a lot of thought went into placement choice.


4. “Californication” – Red Hot Chili Peppers

Ever since I was little I remember listening to my father play his guitar. Magic! That's how I would describe his ability. It was enough to inspire me to play the six-stringed beast. One moment that has always stuck with me since childhood was listening to him play "Under the Bridge", it to this day is one of my favorite songs of all time. So by the time I was given the opportunity to hear “Californication" I was pretty much certain it was going to be good. It wasn't. It was great. So great it made my list of favorites halfway through my first listen.

The band was still having a hard time trying to keep people interested after the success of the "Blood Sugar Sex Magik" album. The initial follow up "One Hot Minute" was considered a huge failure in the bands career, both commercially and critically. So in a sense the heat was on. They had to act fast. And somehow they were able to harness that pressure and create what is considered one of the greatest albums of all time.


Californication has such great songs I'm not sure where to start. Perhaps the title track. "Californication" has a great guitar track. And the Vocals are so amazing. The opening song "Around the World" is so GREAT. Especially the bass guitar. How Flea plays so well with drummer Chad Smith is beyond my comprehension. But they work well. And it sounds great. The lyrics on this album are great too. The vocalist Anthony does a tremendous job writing and each song has its own vibe and feel. He bounces around so much lyrically that it works and keeps the listener engaged and waiting for the next verse.


Each song is different and the album itself stretches over many different styles. From softer songs with deeper meanings like "Scar Tissue", to songs that on first listen make absolutely no sense at all like "I Like Dirt". Californication is a great example of how much effort it takes to really make something great. Overall I would have to say this was one of my favorite Christmas gifts I've ever received.


3. “From Under the Cork Tree” – Fall Out Boy

One of my favorite bands is Fall Out Boy. I remember first hearing their songs playing on the radio back in 2004. And ever since then I have loved their style and complexity. I have spent countless hours listening to all of their albums from their extremely raw punk rock debut “Take This to Your Grave” all the way to their newly released and highly acclaimed extremely complex and pop oriented “Save Rock And Roll”. Each album sounds different which in my opinion is a great and powerful thing. Instead of sticking to the same pattern or a specific style, it allows the group to grow and experiment with different ideas within their music.


However one album in particular sticks out in my mind. From Under the Cork Tree is my third favorite album of all time. It combines so many elements to just leave the listener wanting more. Fall Out Boy’s second studio release reached no. 9 on the Billboard 200 and sold well over 6,500 copies in its first week of release, eventually reaching double platinum status. It is regarded by many people as the group’s biggest success both financially and musically.


The reason I love it, in short, is the lyrics. If you listen to the album for the guitar or drums alone I guarantee you will NOT be disappointed with the outcome. I myself have loved the bass riff from “Dance Dance” and the drumbeat to “Sugar We’re Going Down” since first hearing them practically 10 years ago. But personally I find the core beauty of the album in the lyrics bassist Pete Wentz was able to write for each song. The album tackles very mature subjects such as relationships, depression, and even suicide, but does it with much subtlety. In fact the lyrics are so subtle in their meaning that mostly every single song sounds positive, and I absolutely love it. For the most part the songs all have a good upbeat feel and fast tempo. The chord progressions used are unique yet easy enough to latch onto within the first 20 seconds. The overall theme I notice is self awareness. In a sense it’s as if you are stepping back and looking at yourself and asking the right questions at the wrong time.


When I had discovered this album I guess you could say I was in a dark place of my life. I was anti-social, and I was depressed. This album comforted me. It let me know I wasn’t alone. That is a very powerful thing. And I am very glad to say this band and this album changed my life for the presumable better.


The way each song flows into the next is brilliant. You are never left wondering what just happened. You are left at the end of each song knowing the thought or plot is finished. I have heard many albums and even a few songs that will begin saying one thing and end with a completely different perspective. This album is certainly not one of them. From Under the Cork Tree has been one of my favorites and I do not see that changing anytime soon.


2. “A Hangover You Don’t Deserve – Bowling For Soup

If there is one thing I like more than deep and meaningful lyrics, its ironic lyrics. A Hangover You Don’t Deserve is full of them. The opening track "Almost" tells the story of a kid whose life almost turned out differently. "Next Ex-Girlfriend" is about a guy who wants his girlfriend to, well, not be his girlfriend. So he writes a song for her to like. Or not like. Oh man now I'm confused again. Basically the whole albums revolves around a bad break-up


This album has a very distinct sound, it is greatly mixed and in short, it makes me laugh. I like how all the lyrics are fun and inventive in their meaning. I still remember when my friend brought over this album he led with ”You’re gonna laugh your ass off,” he sure didn’t lie. Each song has its own subject matter, yet each song separately captures your attention, and you can’t help but listen through them to the end. Even though the point of the songs is comedic effect, they all deal with serious material and some really make you think if you let them. I enjoy every single line in every single song. So much so, if you were to quiz me on what verse comes from what song I could tell you not only what song but what track number it is.


One of the best parts of this album is the end. There are two hidden tracks on here that really sell it for me. If you stick around after about 20+ blank tracks that follow the last official song “Friends O’ Mine” you will be treated to a hidden track that features all four members of Bowling for Soup siting in a room singing to an extended version of their song “Ohio (Come Back to Texas)”. It’s just the band having fun and acting silly. This for me is great. I felt way more connected to the band after listening to this track when I discovered the album back in 2009. It made me feel welcome in a sense. I felt like I knew the band on a more personal level. They have definitely earned their place as one of my favorite bands. And I would be lying if I didn’t say that this album was a huge help.


1. “American Idiot” – Green Day

Green Day has always been considered a staple on the pin board of Punk Rock. Their first major label release “Dookie” came out in 1994 and has this year celebrated 20 years of still being regarded as one of  the most influential records in music history, even being recognized as the 193rd greatest album by Rolling Stone. After that they tried almost desperately to get out of that limelight. They wanted to be remembered for something other than Dookie. They released three more attempts at success, which, while being considered great critically, did not do as well as hoped commercially.


In 2004 “American Idiot” was released and met plenty of controversy. It was considered too political. And in some people’s eyes that was not what punk rock was about. In others it was exactly the definition of the genre. I have always found myself telling people that I like the album regardless of whether its punk rock or not. I think it sounds just like Green Day did back when Dookie came out. Only this time they have had about ten years to mature and develop their sound into something as brilliant as ever.


I love this album more than I like food. And that my friend is saying something. I love everything about it. From the title track “American Idiot” all the way to the closing song “Whatsername”. Every song has a great feel and perfect sound. While many of the songs differ in their sole meaning, they all seem to come back around to the same place. That is done perfectly with the help of St. Jimmy the fictional character introduced in the second song “Jesus of Suburbia”. This character is supposed to be the alter ego of lead singer Billie Joe Armstrong. And throughout the album you get to hear his story. From discovering he has a problem, all the way to his death in the second to final song respectively named “Homecoming (The Death of St. Jimmy). But I think the song that speaks to me the most is the single “Wake Me Up When September Ends”. I love this song. It was written about the singer’s father whom died when he was at a very young age. And for some reason it just brings rushing back memories of my dad. He would probably have played this song a lot if he had been alive to hear it today.


I love everything here, everything, the mixing, the lyrics, the style, the guitar, bass, drums, and of course, Billie’s voice. This album speaks to me on a deeper level then I myself can even comprehend. I love each song in its own way. And I have listened to it so much, and it is so comforting for me that I have fallen asleep listening to it. This band put some work into this, and by God, did it pay off great.


Final Thoughts

I love music. Whether it’s deep in meaning, comedic as can be, or it makes no sense at all. I love music in all forms; it brings me joy to listen to an album in its entirety and it makes me so happy to actually like it. There aren’t many I do enjoy. I’d say out of the 1000’s I have listened to fully, I can honestly say that I liked about 15 or 20 of them enough to listen to listen to them over and over.


When I think of albums I like, many seem to come from the same bands. But I do notice they also come from completely different genres. I like things from both groups and individuals. Soft spoken albums are a definite plus for me. And I very much love fast and upbeat albums as well. But I really like when albums can mix both styles and do it well. My musical taste has changed yes. But, I do not feel my taste in style hasn’t.


Ever since I have begun making my own music my level of respect for musicians has increased immensely. I understand how much hard work can go into a song. I mean to make about 10 or 12. Man that takes a lot of work. My only wish in life is to make an album that I not only feel confident enough to put on my list of favorites. But one I know will be on other people’s favorite list.


Thank you

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page